top of page

Makeup Tips From a College Student

Helpful, trendy makeup tips to upgrade your everyday routine

 


Makeup can be a bit tricky if you don't know where to start. Luckily for you, I have some easy, simple tips that will improve your makeup game.


Tip 1: Prep the Skin

Always prep your skin before you start your makeup routine.


Most people skip this step or underestimate the power of prepping the skin before applying makeup. Some of you may wonder what prepping the skin means or how to do it. For those that don't know, you can prep the skin by washing your face and applying moisturizer and/or facial oils. But for those who are on a budget, like me, your simple face wash and daily moisturizer will do. Don't forget the SPF, though!


Prepping the skin before applying makeup gives the perfect base. Having the perfect base allows for the makeup to blend into the skin smoothly and effortlessly. We are all about wearing makeup that doesn't look like we are wearing makeup.


Tip 2: Makeup Sponge and Brush

Use a makeup sponge and a makeup brush.


There is a big debate on whether to use a makeup sponge or a makeup brush to apply makeup. Well, I like to use both. When applying foundation or a tinted moisturizer, I first use the makeup brush. This helps get the coverage I want and the brush is less likely to absorb the product, unlike the makeup sponge. Then I go over the product on my face with the makeup sponge to blend the brush marks out and the foundation into my skin.


I use a makeup brush for other liquid products as well, like blush and contour. Then I go over it with the makeup sponge to blend it into my skin. To really get the best use out of a makeup sponge, be sure to wet it so it is damp. This will give your makeup a natural finish.


Tip 3: Primer and Setting Spray

Always use primer and setting spray.


Using a primer and setting spray is key to getting your makeup to stay all day long. Just like how skin prep is important, a primer is also important. There has been a debate about whether primer actually does anything or not. In my opinion, I notice a difference when using a primer. My makeup looks better and it looks better for longer.


The importance of using setting spray goes hand in hand with using a primer. Spraying your makeup down with setting spray helps lock the makeup look in place. This is important for when you are going to class for the day or for when you are going out and don't want the makeup to "move."

Tip 4: Less is More

Less is more.


When it comes to makeup looking effortless or natural, less is always more. There is no need to apply a bunch of makeup to create a natural look. Of course, it's a personal preference as to what look you want. But if you want a natural, effortless makeup look, apply less of a product. This will help when it comes to blending in your makeup.


It's easier to blend a small amount of product compared to a large amount of product. Always start small, then you can add more. This will help decrease the amount of "mess-ups" that can occur.


Tip 5: Don't Be Afraid to Get Creative

Do what makes you comfortable and don't be afraid to try something new.


Makeup can be intimidating and it can be easy to give up. The best advice I can give is to keep practicing and eventually you'll be a makeup pro. Also, don't be afraid to get creative and bold with makeup. Makeup is an art, and you are the artist. It is okay to be unique and not fit into the typical makeup trends.


For myself, I like to look up fun makeup looks and try to recreate them based on the image. And sometimes I even just put the makeup on and let my imagination take control. When it comes to makeup, there are no rules and there are no boundaries.

IMG_1423 (1).jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My name is Hailey and I am passionate about makeup. As a college student, I know it can be tough when it comes to finding affordable makeup. Luckily for you, I write posts that help college students when it comes to makeup. My posts include makeup tips, my favorite go-to products, and much more.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page